Summer 2011 In Review


I have been quite neglectful of this blog this summer. The weather got so hot that even Cupcake wasn’t willing to go outside. I would wake up and water the garden each morning out of necessity, but by 7am it was too hot to be out there. Hence the fact that I didn’t spend a ton of time photographing and such. Today is supposed to get up to 85! It’s October for crying out loud! I did get a few photos in, though, so here’s sort of a recap of the summer through photos and video….

At the beginning of the summer, I accidentally over-filled the pond. Cupcake didn’t mind one bit:

The ducks find all ways to get to the tomato plants... sneaky little things!


The zucchini had a prosperous year. Look at the size of that thing after it rained!


Cupcake found the river to be a nice soothing place to cool down


The peach tree put out over 200 peaches this year! I made peach preserves, peach bread, peach cupcakes, peach everything!


The pink Angel's Trumpet put on quite a display


The white Angel's Trumpet got ENORMOUS, but so did the Elephant Ear... and the Elephant ear totally blocked the view!


The Purple Obedient Plant is happily spreading. I started out with only 5 plants 2 summers ago!


I let my lawn go too long without mowing and these beautiful Spider Flowers popped up!


Another surprise addition to the garden was this vine climbing up my fence. Some type of honeysuckle?


That's a happy pig


Beautiful roses bloom again as the weather cools down


Butter and Banana visit Jelly who is inside right now after bumblefoot surgery caused by the simple act of stepping on a rose thorn! Check your ducks' feet regularly


Ichiban, the newest 12 inch addition to the koi pond


I made a succulent garden in my old fishbowl for a new addition to the office garden

Of course, it can’t be forgotten that in August I lost sweet Peanut to an owl attack. I still miss her every day, but am lucky enough to have taken so many photos and videos of her, like Peanut’s Busy Day.

And last, but not least, we have the hilarious antics of Cupcake the pig… She is not “fixed” and when in heat she becomes a desperate girl. When my sister visited on Saturday nothing could keep that pig away!

I promise to take more pictures with my real camera instead of my iPhone in the future!

And if you’re interested in my peach cupcakes recipe, click here: Toffee Peach Cupcakes with Coconut Buttercream Frosting

~ by Rachel on October 17, 2011.

2 Responses to “Summer 2011 In Review”

  1. Thanks so much for your so kind comments on my website. I must say I thoroughly enjoyed visiting your farm today.. I am in love with Cupcake:) and I think your country must be where heaven is.. because animals can roam free and anything grows in abundance 🙂 I’m following you now!! Yay!

    • Thank you 🙂 I didn’t even realize you were from a different country… That explains why your blog feels like a vacation spot! The animals don’t run totally free, of course. I have a fenced in yard, the ducks must stay in the coop at night, Cupcake lives in the house, and I have to have a permit from the city to be able to keep “livestock” within city limits. But I make it work, and everyone is happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

