Australia, Australia


For the next week and a half, Woodhouse Farms is going to be all about Australia…

So we left on Wednesday evening for Australia (my dad and I) and arrived on Friday morning…. LONG flight. When we got to Manly, where we are staying for the first week, we ended up going straight to Cromer Golf Course so my dad could play 18 holes with my uncles Ian and Bob, and I could take photos of birds and flowers. The course was absolutely beautiful, and there were so many different birds it was awesome. Cockatoos, kookaburras, plovers, lorikeets, coots, ducks…. I got a ton of photos. I actually got many more than I could fit into a single post, so some of my photos will be spread throughout posts. The grounds keeper on the course noticed me taking some photos of cockatoos and he pointed me in the direction of a hole in a tree that housed a cockatoo nest, and it had an egg inside! My Aunt Melanie, who has lived here her entire life, said she’s never even seen a wild cockatoo’s nest! I thought that was pretty awesome!

Anyway, we basically spent the whole first day on the course then went out to dinner with my Aunt Melanie and family on Manly Beach. By the time I got to the apartment we’re staying at I was wiped out. I had a hard time staying awake while I was making the pull-out bed on the couch 😦

This morning, we woke up around 6 am and went to have breakfast at the Four Olives, then for a 2 mile walk on Manly Beach. We went to my cousin Miranda’s tennis match for a bit, then out for coffee with the family, and then moved on to see a townhouse that my Uncle Bob wants to buy. The place was incredible, with a gorgeous view of the Sydney Opera House and the Harbor Bridge. Seriously, the place was amazing. I offered to move in with Cupcake— the house has an elevator, which is perfect for accommodating a house pig 😉

We went to lunch in an area called “Forty Baskets” at a coffee shop called forty something-er-others (I can’t even remember… 40 Beans maybe?) then for a hike up North Head, which is pretty cool and has gun trenches and such from WW2, and an army base up top. It’s spring here, so there are so many beautiful flowers out and so many bird nests! I had dinner at Aunt Melanie’s house while my dad went off to his high school reunion. I can’t wait to hear how that went. Ha. More to come, hopefully… wireless is scarce around here. Here are photos, of course!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by Rachel on November 13, 2010.

3 Responses to “Australia, Australia”

  1. Awesome photos! Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to see more!

  2. Good to read your stories… Pictures are cool too.

  3. Interesting and beautiful photos. How did you find the cockatoo nest?

Leave a Reply

