A lot of bad eggs…


This summer has been a very depressing one for my duckling world. Between Cupcake eating the majority of the nest to the ducks breaking some of the eggs open pre-maturely… these poor ducklings don’t seem to stand a chance.

After all the fiascos, I finally bought an incubator and put the remaining live 9 eggs in there… Well, now I’m down to 3– and none have hatched. A few of them died along the way, the egg looking like it was bruised on the outside and when candled they were solid black… This morning I discarded yet another one like that. 3 of the eggs, however, have developed allllll the way up until day 25 and then died. Being the curious person I am, I broke the eggs open and surely enough there were fully developed but dead babies inside šŸ˜¦

So yeah… 3 eggs left and I’m not getting my hopes up. Not sure what’s going on here, but it is truly depressing!

~ by Rachel on September 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

