Duckling update


So the egg count went from 19 down to 5… up to 7… back down to 6. Seems that they somehow know when there are any defects in the eggs… 2 of the eggs had small cracks in them on different days… Well, I found each of those eggs later on at the bottom of the pond. One of the 6 eggs I believe is dead, but I figure Peanut will kick it out of the nest at some point. I think they’ve stopped laying eggs at this point.

Anyway, here’s a cute video of the ducks and Peanut egg-sitting. I included a candled egg at the end. You can see the embryo moving around inside– it looks a bit like a jellyfish. It’s pretty cool! It’s about 11 days old in the video.

~ by Rachel on August 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “Duckling update”

  1. Lovely to “meet” Peanut! She is very much like my ducks! What a sad thing to read about Cupcake’s naughty egg day. Well, I guess these things do happen, but it’s certainly frustrating. My ducks quit laying their eggs a while back – they seem to only lay in the spring/early summer and have all stopped by now. Strange.

    • Yes, strange! I have read before that ducks go through a 5 or 6 week period when they take a break from laying, but my ducks have laid pretty consistently for a year with maybe a couple of days when they either didn’t lay or Cupcake found the eggs in the yard before I did. I know that my ducks’ mom is a rare layer… I don’t know what determines that behavior?

Leave a Reply

